top of page
  • claycrawford

Final Reflection


What in this course made you smile:

  • Writing the “Where I’m From” section of the final portfolio definitely made me smile. I am so thankful to have had such a great childhood upcoming at home in Nashville full of so many memories. Being able to relive those memories through my writing has been a blessing as I moved away for college. I cannot wait to share some of these stories with my family.


Flame something that you did in this class:

  • I do not and have not enjoyed using Wix very much. I am used to mostly turning in PDF documents and writing papers and mainly turning in each assignment at a certain time. With Wix, it does not feel very gratifying when I post something because I do not feel as if I am genuinely turning it in. I got very frustrated with how it would post things and organize my thoughts.


What would I share:

  • I would share each one of the segments that I wrote with certain people for each. I would share my past (Where I'm from) with my family because I feel as if they could relate and would enjoy seeing the important parts of my childhood. I would share the Where I Am with my Bible study that has been so important to me during my time at TCU. I would share the Where I’m going with incoming students that are trying to stay involved with their faith in college. I have learned that each writing piece has a certain audience and reaching that audience is crucial.


What surprised me that I wrote:

  • I was surprised the most about my writing on Where I’m From. I feel as if those memories that I talked about and the areas that created me come to life in a different way when you put them on paper rather than just think about them. You have to think about the important parts, sounds, and moments that truly encapsulate those feelings.


Turning Point of Thinking:

  • I feel like the turning point for me mostly came when I realized that I was not actually sharing these thoughts and memories with people who understood what I was talking about but, instead, someone who might want to know more about my childhood. In those moments, I learned I had to write from a different perspective so that they could get an image of the same place that I was working to describe. Writing is all about reaching an audience and not always about writing for yourself.

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page